28 June 2023

20 new members

Auch in den vergangenen sieben Tagen sind wieder 20 neu dabei:

Rheinhausen (Breisgau) in Baden-Württemberg, Gräfenthal in Thüringen, Egestorf in Niedersachsen, Nordwalde in Nordhrein-Westfalen, Wunsiedel in Bayern, Bad Doberan in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Amöneburg in Hessen, Weyhe in Niedersachsen, Stahnsdorf in Brandenburg, Zeitlarn und Bad Rodach in Bayern, Heinsberg, Dormagen, Metelen und Remscheid in Nordrhein-Westfalen, Schneverdingen in Niedersachsen, Immenstaad a. B. in Baden-Württemberg, Stadecken-Elsheim in Rheinland-Pfalz, Luckau (Wendland) in Niedersachsen und Hürtgenwald in Nordrhein-Westfalen.

HerzlichenDank für Ihr Engagement!

19 June 2023

StVO: Demand for more scope for local authority action. 

The inclusion of the goals of climate and environmental protection, health and urban development with equal priority in the submitted draft bill for the reform of the Road Traffic Act (StVG) will significantly expand the scope for sustainable municipal mobility and traffic design in the future in principle, if this draft actually becomes applicable law. However, it is now just as important to translate this liberalization into concrete leeway for municipalities in the design of inner-city traffic areas.

"The draft for the StVG reform is a first, important step on the way to more scope for municipal design. Together with our member municipalities, we now expect and demand that this path be consistently continued in the adaptation of the StVO. It is a matter of our cities and municipalities finally being able to act and no longer being thwarted by the StVO," says Thomas Dienberg, Mayor and Councillor for Urban Development and Construction of the City of Leipzig and spokesman for the initiative "Liveable cities through appropriate speeds". 

"When adapting the Road Traffic Regulations, it must now be ensured that traffic law becomes a usable tool for local politics and administration. This includes making individual and fact-based decisions possible - carefully weighed, but without lengthy and costly detours, for example, through superfluous expert opinions," adds Frauke Burgdorff, Mayor for Urban Development, Construction and Mobility of the City of Aachen and spokesperson for the initiative.   

Beyond the topic of the permissible maximum speed, many topics are regulated in the StVO in a way that puts unnecessary hurdles in the way of the municipalities and makes appropriate action partially impossible. Examples of this are the arrangement of resident parking, crosswalks or bus lanes. Here, too, the initiative calls for the creation of targeted, flexible and location-specific scope for action for local authorities - exactly what local people need and want.


15 June 2023

Promising draft bill on reform of the Road Traffic Act ("Straßenverkehrsgesetz", StVG) presented

The draft bill on the reform of the Road Traffic Act presented today provides that, in addition to the "ease and safety" of traffic, the objectives of climate and environmental protection, health and urban development are to be given equal priority. The Road Traffic Act is thus to be given considerably more leeway in the future in the interests of the municipalities. This would fulfill one of the core requirements of the "Liveable cities through appropriate speeds" initiative. 

"The draft presented offers reason for optimism," says Thomas Dienberg, Mayor of the City of Leipzig and spokesperson for the initiative. "This is what our 800 or so member municipalities have fought persistently for locally in their councils and committees and together in the initiative."

Frauke Burgdorff, Mayor for Urban Development, Construction and Mobility of the City of Aachen and spokesperson for the initiative adds, "The door is finally open. If the reform of the Road Traffic Act is implemented as announced, we will come a huge step closer to one of the initiative's main goals. Now we expect now a brisk progress in the legislative procedure and afterwards the courageous co-operation of the countries with the adjustment of the StVO ".

The task now is for politicians to reach cross-party agreement on the good draft. The initiative continues to offer its support for the procedure that now follows and for the further necessary adjustments to the StVO.